Easy Breezy

ImageImageImageImageImage

Dress – H&M (oldie but a goodie) / Diamond Bangle – Forever 21 / Bracelets – Dotti, Collette

I first off want to say thank you to the people who are already following us! I’m really excited to start blogging so that I can document my time out here (Cairns, Australia) and keep my fam and friends up to date in my life. So, for my very first blog post, I wanted to show you my beach. Well, it’s not exactly my beach, but I like to think it is, as it’s only a hop, skip, and a jump away from our apartment.

Jordan (my husband) and I moved here at the end of January, and since we have, I’ve been struggling to get rid of this bug called “homesickness.” Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel and I love experiencing new places, however, it’s another thing to know you’re going to be in the same place for the next 5 years. Although it’s kind of fun starting from scratch again, I have times where I long for normality. To have my family and friends at my beck and call. To find a new home, make new friends, find a new church,  re-buy all new appliances (can we start a registry again please?), not to mention having the foods I so took for granted (Ahem…Old Dutch S&V Chips!). To have a Starbucks on every corner and a grocery store or mall that’s open later than 4pm, not to mention filled with consumers wearing shirts and shoes. (A lot of shirtless, barefoot people around here).

So sometimes on days when the “homesickness bug” comes crawling up and I start thinking about all the things I don’t have or am missing out on, I like to take a walk down to this beach, kick off my sandals (as I refuse to walk barefoot), and just stare out to the sea. Ocean? (does it really matter?) It makes me realize how small I am, and how small my issues of feeling homesick are. Family and friends back home will always be there when I return, and for the other petty things, let’s face it…is Starbucks THAT much better than Gloria Jean’s?….well heck yes!! But what I’m trying to say is, it makes me see the beauty in this place and makes me realize how blessed we (Jord and I) are to have been given an opportunity like this. To live in a warm, tropical place where there are pretty white parrots instead of black crows, a sparkling blue pool in my backyard, and a man that’s that much closer to buying me my walk-in-closet!!!…and I start feeling at peace with where we are. Peace. Glorious peace.

Rebecca Janelle

xo

6 thoughts on “Easy Breezy

  1. Beck’s I miss you so much! I wish I could just fly out and visit you every weekend, but it would take the whole weekend to get there! lol You are so lucky to be there, and by a beach EVERY DAY!!!!

  2. Becky: So well written, love your honesty about life and your new life in Australia, you will look back on this time,just the two of you, as such an adventure and be amazed at how wonderful it was !! Gloria Jeans takes the time to put the fancy leaf on the top of their drinks ….. I likey …..

  3. Hi Janelle, I knew Jill when she was in Sydney. I’m glad I found your blog. I actually grew up in Cairns – I promise I always wore shoes, but I cant speak for my family!! My sister would to go to university barefoot!
    I’m looking forward to more Cairns updates. thx B

    • Now that’s my kind of woman! haha! It’s nice to know that someone out there knows and understands what I am talking about. Cairns is beautiful, but it definitely has it’s funny little quirks.
      Thanks for writing me and following our blog, Brigitta! I’m sure I’ll have more Cairns updates in the near future.
      R

Leave a Reply

