I’m on a horse

Image

This Old Spice commercial is still one of my favourites, I can’t help but smile as I remember the randomness that made it so funny.  This week, we are venturing into the world of stamping!!  I tried on a pair of ‘horse’ jeans a few weeks back at urban outfitters.  I didn’t love the fit, but fell in love with the print and how hipster it made me feel.  You see, I am a wanna-be hipster.  Living in Vancouver has encouraged me in this direction, and I really want to think I can pull it off, but somehow feel slightly awkward as I stroll down the street with my fake glasses and horses.  If people glance over I just know they are giggling inside at my attempt.  But attempt I will, because there is nothing wrong with trying out new styles and looks…right?

So instead of buying the jeans, I found a way to create my own horse pattern, and for really almost no cost!  I ventured to Michael’s to buy stamps.  I wanted a Fleur de Lis stamp for another project, and was excited to find the perfect one at Michaels.  Then my eyes gazed down to the price of this little, simple stamp and I think I yelped, right in the middle of the store.  It was over $20.  For one stamp.  Crazy right?  So I decided to make my own – and I highly recommend you do as well.  It was so easy, and so cheap!  Remember my pantsformation?  Well I have washed and dried these pants and the fabric paint hasn’t budged, which is another inspiration to just stamp it on!!

Here is what you will need:

lImage

– fabric paint

– craft foam ($0.99)

– small paint brush

– exacto knife

– plain t-shirt or scarf or really anything you want to jazz up a little (t-shirt is not pictured)

Image

1) I googled the two images that I wanted to turn into stamps and put them into Word and then printed them out.

2)  Next, I traced the horse onto the craft foam.

3)  I then carefully cut using my exacto knife around the horse.

4)  Here is what your stamp should look like (this picture was taken post stamping, hence the black color)

Image

Next, paint on the stamp with your paintbrush, and press down on the fabric.  Here you see me working with the fleur de lis that I stamped onto a scarf.  Be careful as you do this, as you can get paint on your fingers, and it is easy to accidentally touch the fabric.  I kept a wet rag with me and washed my fingers regularly.

And there you have it.  A homemade stamp that just saved you heaps of $$$ and the option of unlimited shapes!  Imagine hearts, or polka dots, or moustaches….

ImageImage

ImageImage

//t-shirt – H&M //pants – H&M // boots – Spring //watch – Fossil //necklace and earrings – gifted //glasses – Charlotte Russe

So as I was stamping and editing last night, my husband was busy watching football.  I glanced up and noticed that the New Orleans Saint’s logo is the Fleur de Lis!  I had no idea as I am not a big football fan (except for the Packers, Aaron Rodgers bought me my dinner at the Olive Garden once – true story), so I just thought, “huh, how random!”  Then I glanced up a few minutes later to see they were playing the Denver Bronco’s, whose logo is a horse!!  C-R-A-Z-Y coincidence or what?!  I felt like I was a REAL football fan without even knowing it!  And then I panicked that I wasn’t even being hipster, rather channelling my sporty side…sigh…

xo

Jillian Marie

5 thoughts on “I’m on a horse

Leave a Reply

